Bikram, Rameshwari in India`s cycling squad for Asian Games

New Delhi: O Bikram Singh and Ch Rameshwori Devi will lead the Indian charge in men`s and women`s section respectively when a 15-member cycling squad take part in the cycling competition in next month`s Asian Games to be held in Guangzhou, China.

The Cycling Federation of India (CFI) today picked the squad for the November 12-27 mega-event. The Indian squad includes nine men and six woman cyclists.

Besides Bikram, who had claimed a bronze in the Asian Cup earlier this year, the Indian hopes will also lie on Amrit Singh, Vinod Malik and Atul Kumar.

Among the Indian eves, Mahita Mohan is expected to spring a few surprises.

India`s foreign coach Grahm Seers and head coach Chayan Choudhary, along with woman trainer Ruma Chatopahya, will accompany the riders during the Games.

Training camp for the cyclists will commence here from October 27.

Earlier, a 27-member Indian squad had failed to make any impact in the October 3-14 Commonwealth Games here.

The squad:

Men: O Bikram Singh, Dayala Ram Saran, Satbir Singh, Sombir, Vinod Malik, Atul Kumar, Amrit Singh, Prince HS Hylen, Rajender Bishoni;

Women: Ch Rameshwori Devi, Y Sunita Devi, Pana Chowdury, Rejani V, Mahita Mohan, Suchitra Devi.

Coaches: Grahm Seers, Chayan Choudary, Ruma Chatopahya.