Canadian Letourneau, Anaka top seeds in Western India squash

Updated: Oct 23, 2012, 15:29 PM IST

Mumbai: Canadian professional David Letourneau, ranked 115 in the world, and top Indian junior Anaka Alankomony have got the top billing among men and women, respectively in the 69th CCI Western India squash tournament, commencing on October 29.

The Junior and Sub-Junior Nationals are to be held concurrently with the Western India event and a record number of around 900 entries have been received in different age groups, it was announced at a media conference here on Tuesday.

Anaka from Tamil Nadu, who is ranked 92nd in the professional women`s circuit, is seeded number one in the girls` U-19 section in the absence of defending champion Saumya Karki of Maharashtra who has gone to the USA for undergraduate studies, said Cricket Club of India`s Naval Pandole.

In the boys` corresponding age group, local talent Mahesh Mangaonkar who is seeded no. 1 in the nationals, has been seeded two in the Western India event behind Letourneau, from Calgary, who is on a coaching stint in Delhi and has expressed his eagerness to play at CCI, said Pandole.

A large number of players from Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan, Delhi and Goa, besides the host state will enrich the age group nationals.

All the matches in the Western India for seniors and the nationals for juniors and sub-juniors will be held in the refurbished, air conditioned glassbacked courts of CCI, according to Pandole.

The event ends on November 4.

Select seedings:

Western India: Men`s Open: 1. David Letourneau (Canada), 2. Mahesh Mangaonkar (Mah), 3. Ravi Dixit (TN), 4. Gaurav Nandrajog (Del), 5. Kush Kumar (TN), 6. Sandeep Jangra (Ser), 7. Vikas Jangra (Ser). 8. Abhishek Pradhan (TN).

Women: 1. Anaka Alankamony (TN), 2. Aparajitha Balakumaran (TN), 3. Lakshya Ragavendran (TN), 4. Enora Villard (TN).

Boys U-19: 1. Mahesh Mangaonkar (Mah), 2. Rishi Tandon (TN), 3. Madhav Dhingra (Mah), 4. Sandeep Ramachandran (TN).

Girls U-19: 1. Anaka Alanamony (TN), 2. Aparajitha Balakumaran (TN), 3. Urvashi Joshi (Mah), 4. Sachika Ingale (Del).