Captains, coaches named for WSH teams

New Delhi: India`s top midfielder Sardara Singh has been appointed the captain of Bhopal outfit, while former India coach Jose Brasa of Spain is all set to train the Chennai team in World Series Hockey to be held from December 17 to January 22 next year across several cities in India.

Besides Brasa, world`s leading coach Roelant Oltmans will also be seen imparting his knowledge to Lucas Vila-led Delhi while former India skipper Jude Felix will coach Bangalore, to be captained by Arjun Halappa.

Meanwhile, former Pakistan captain Rehan Butt will be leading the Chandigarh outfit.

The appointments were made at a franchise workshop held today and the Yannick Colaco, COO of Nimbus Sport said that the franchises are happy with the appointment of the captains and coaches.

"The franchises are delighted with their appointment of the captains and coaches. The dynamic combination of the world`s most explosive players and the best coaches will provide inspirational leadership to the respective teams," he said.

The WSH will involve eight teams, consisting of 200 leading players -- Indian and international -- who will showcase their talent in 61 matches. It will be a multi-city franchise-based League.

The other players for the all the eight teams will be finalised on Monday, based on the internationally accepted and practised `draft` system.

The draft will consist of 24 Rounds where a team will pick a player in each round.

Each team will have a minimum of 22 and a maximum of 25 players, including the captain, with a maximum of six non-Indian players, a minimum of four local players from their territory and a minimum of four Indian youth players.


Bangalore: Arjun Halappa (capt) & Jude Felix (coach)

Bhopal: Sardara Singh (capt) & V Bhaskaran (coach)

Chandigarh: Rehan Butt (capt) & Harendra Singh (coach)

Chennai: Brent Livermore (capt) and Jose Brasa (coach)

Delhi: Lucas Vila (capt) & Roelant Oltmans (coach)

Mumbai: Adrian D Souza (capt) & Andrew Meredith (coach)

Pune: Rodrigo Garza (capt) & Gundeep Singh (coach)

Punjab: Prabhjot Singh (capt) & Rajinder Singh (coach)


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link