Chandan Sarkar wins 81-km National Open water competition

Kolkata: Chandan Sarkar of Bengal clinched the top prize in the 68th edition of the 81-km National Open Water competition on river Bhagirathi on sunday.

Hailing from Murshidabad district, Sarkar, who finished third in the last edition of the gruelling event, dominated the event this time around, swimming the distance in 11 hours, four minutes and 43 seconds.

His district mate Debkumar Halder finished second, finishing more than 12 minutes adrift, while Bangladeshi Mohammad Moonmoon Ahmed was third.

Sonu Debnath and Priyanka Karmakar of North 24 Parganas won the men`s and women`s 19km titles respectively.

The open event had 27 competitors, including four women.

There were 32 entries by women and 19 by men for the shorter 19-km section.

The winner received INR 50,000, the runner-up INR 30,000 and the third placed finisher got richer by INR 20,000.

For the shorter event the winner of three top slots got INR 20,000, INR 15,000 and INR 10,000 respectively.

The 81-km competition started from Ahiron Barrage Ghat and ended at Gorabazar Ghat downstream.

The short-distance event started from Jiaganj Sadar Ghat and ended at Gorabazar Ghat.


Open 81km: Chandan Sarkar (Murshidabad, 11::04:43s); Debkumar Haldar (Murshidabad, 11::17:08); Mohammad Moonmoon Ahmed (Bangladesh, 11::23.39).

Men`s 19km: Sonu Debnath (N 24 Parganas, 2::09.32); Palash Chowdhury (Bangladesh, 2::14.16); Jeeshan Ali (S 24 Parganas, 2::14.41).

Women`s 19km: Priyanka Karmakar (N 24 Parganas, 2::19:49); Namita Madgundi (Maharashtra, 2::21.22); Jahnvi Bankar (Maharashtra, 2::25.55).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link