CM inaugurates Commonwealth Games exhibition on wheels

Panaji: Chief Minister Digambar Kamat
inaugurated an exhibition on sports and Information Technology
on board Commonwealth Games Express, a special train which
arrived at Vasco this morning on its 75th day of the journey.

Highlighting the sporting achievements of all time great
sportspersons in the country, the Commonwealth Games Express
arrived to a rousing reception at the Vasco Station.

The train, modified into an exhibition-on-wheels, also
lays emphasis on the sporting history of India, apart from
highlighting the significance of Commonwealth Games (CWG).

Speaking on the occasion, Kamat complimented Department
of Ministry of Communications, Information Technology and the
Indian Railways for planning such an exhibition.

The students will make best use of this opportunity to
learn about the IT and the Commonwealth games, he said.

While a section of the population is much aware of the
significance of information and Technology, the larger section
still does not have much clarity about it, Kamat said.

The more important fact is that they don`t know how IT as
a tool can change their lives, he added.

The Commonwealth Express is about bridging that knowledge
gap, he said in a press release.

Kamat also visited the exhibition. This train consists of
11 coaches out of which five coaches have been allocated to
Railway Sports Promotion Board and rest to Department of
Information Technology.

The Divisional Railway Manager Shri Pravin Kumar Mishra
said that the Indian Railways has always been promoting

Now by endorsing ICT through the Commonwealth Express it
has taken the initiative of spreading the essence of IT to
citizens who are not yet exposed to opportunities that IT

Officiating Chief Secretary Shri Narendra Kumar in his
welcome speech expressed happiness on the arrival of the train
and said that it will benefit the locals as well as students
to learn more about the Commonwealth games and the Information

Vasco da Gama is the 36th stop-over on the special
train`s itinerary.

The train which has a 101 day long journey schedule and
is planned to travel through 20 states, stopping at 49 major
stations was flagged off by the Union Railway Minister Mamata
Banerjee from the Safdarjung railway station in New Delhi on
June 24, 2010.

The train stayed for one day in Goa.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link