Consider our list of members as official: Chautala-led IOA

New Delhi: The suspended IOA, headed by Abhay Singh Chautala, on Friday shot off a letter to the IOC requesting them to consider the seven-member list of delegates sent by them as official for the joint meeting on May 15 at Lausanne to find a way for India`s return to the Olympic movement.

The Chautala-led IOA had, on yesterday, submitted a list to the IOC in which the names of Hockey India secretary general Narinder Batra, Jharkhand Olympic Association President R K Anand and AFI President Adille Sumariwalla figured.

Interestingly, acting IOA president Vijay Kumar Malhotra today finalised a four-member delegation for a meeting with the IOC. The list included the names of Malhotra, N Ramachandran (Patron, Squash Rackets Federation of India), Tarlochan Singh (vice-president, Archery Association of India) and S Raghunathan (President, Indian Kayaking Canoeing Association).

The names of Batra, Anand and Sumariwalla did not figure in the delegation though some media reports had listed them.

"This has reference to our email sent on 2 May, 2013 consisting of names of authorized representatives from NSFs for 15 May, 2013 meeting at Lausanne regarding suspension of IOA. Subsequently we have observed that Mr V K Malhotra has sent an email on 3 May, 2013 on the same subject," the letter from suspended IOA to the IOC stated.

"The list sent by Malhotra does not represent the consensus arrived amongst the NSFs in India. The NSFs request that all the five delegates of NSFs are invited to the 15 May, 2013 Meeting in Lausanne as leaving out any one would result in delegation not representing and reflecting the different views of the NSFs and the Olympic Movement in India," said the letter written by George Mathew, Executive Officer, IOA to Jrme Poivey, Head of Institutional Relations and Governance, NOC Relations Department and Christophe De Kepper, IOC Director General.

The letter further stated the names were arrived at as a result of wide consultation and co-ordination amongst the NSFs.

"In case any one is left out from amongst the five nominated delegates in our 2 May, 2013 email, then it would difficult for others to travel to represent and reflect the different views of the NSFs.

"I have been directed to request you to very kindly treat our email sent on 2 May, 2013 as the only official email regarding the composition of the delegation of NSFs of IOA for the scheduled 15 May, 2013 meeting at Lausanne and ignore the letter sent through email by Malhotra on 3 May, 2013 in this regard," said Mathew in the letter.

Chautala and secretary-general Lalit Bhanot, who were elected unopposed on December 5 last year, have been not been included in the list.

Meanwhile, the four-member list by Malhotra was released today after IOC`s letter dated May 2 asked the IOA to confirm the names of its delegates, who would be visiting Lausanne for a joint meeting with the IOC.

"I will lead a three-member delegation for the meeting and the flight schedule will be sent to you in couple of days," Malhotra wrote in the letter sent to IOC President, Jacques Rogge, today.

"This should be treated as the only official/authorised communication of the IOA regarding the composition of the delegation for the meeting," the letter added.

The IOA will have wait for the IOC to clear the names sent to them today, in order to visit Lausanne.