Delhi beat Kerala 4-1 in hockey nationals

Lucknow: Delhi registered their first win as they defeated Kerala 4-1 in the 4th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship at Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium, here on Friday.

Delhi, who lost their first game against Vidarbha Hockey Association, looked a much better side as they scored two goals in each half of their Pool D match.

Manish Kumar, Shyambir, Abhishek and Praveen Kumar contributed with a goal each in Delhi`s victory.

In other Pool D matches, Shaheed Shaikh, Prince Yadav and Amulya Minj found the back of the net to help Chhattisgarh register a 3-1 win over Vidarbha Hockey Association, while Assam played a 2-2 draw against Tripura.

Assam took a 1-0 lead in the 36th minute with a field-goal by Mohammad Salman Khan but ten minutes later Mohammad Suhail equalised for Tripura.

Mohammad Salman Khan scored another field goal in the 57th minute to give his side 2-1 lead but Mohammad Khalil brought Tripura on level terms just two minutes later.

In Pool C, Hockey Gangpur (Odisha) registered their second consecutive win by trouncing Bengal 5-1. Bengal took an early lead in the second minute when Sunil Shah converted a penalty corner.

However, the Odisha-based side soon levelled through a field effort by Sashi Toppo and went on to slam four more goals to win the match comfortably.

Earlier, Puducherry defeated Mizoram 3-1 in Pool C.

Day 2 results:

Pool C- Puducherry 3 N Sellamuthu (5 min), V Karthikeyan (50 min) and N Kamalakannan (69 min) vs Mizoram 1 M S Dawngliana (15 min)

Hockey Gangpur (Odisha) 5 Sashi Toppo (4 min), William Xalxo (10 min), Bruno Hedrino Lugun (23 min), Ashish Anmol Minz (54 min), Dillip Kerketta (63 min) vs Bengal 1 Sunil Shah (2 min)
Assam 2 Mohammad Salman Khan (36, 57 min) vs Tripura 2 Mohammad Suhail (46 min), Mohammad Khalil (59 min)

Pool D- Chhattisgarh 3 Prince Yadav (7 min), Shaheed Shaikh (56 min) and Amulya Minj (66 min) vs Vidarbha Hockey Association 1 Mohammad Ajaz Qureshi (23 min)

Delhi 4 Manish Sharma (22 min), Shyambir (31 min), Abhishek (40 min), Praveen Kumar (62 min) vs Kerala 1 Sudheeh P (42 min).