Digamber Kamat re-elected as SFI president

New Delhi: Goa Chief Minister Digamber Kamat
has been unanimously re-elected as the president of Swimming
Federation of India in its Annual General Body Meeting in

The AGM paid little heed to the Sports Ministry`s recent
tenure guidelines and also re-elected Virendra Nanavati of
Gujarat as the secretary general of SFI for the sixth time.

Besides 23 state units, the meeting was also attended by
Hussain Al Musallam, vice-president of the game`s world body
FINA, a statement said today.

The election was conducted as per the constitution of the
SFI and VS Borkar was the returning officer for the poll
process as the office bearers were elected unanimously, the
statement stated.

K Murugan, vice-president of Indian Olympic Association
and government observer C Chinnappa was also present during
the voting process.

"The house also decided to conduct the Commonwealth Water
Polo Championship in Goa in the last week of October," the
statement added.

Office bearers:

President: Digamber V Kamat (Goa);

General Secretary: Virendra Nanavati (Gujarat);

Treasurer: S Rajiv (Kerala);

Vice-presidents: Ramanuj Mukhopadhya (Bengal), Balraj
Sharma (Punjab), Bhawani Shankar Sharma (MP), TD Vijay
Raghavan (Karnataka), Rajkumar (Delhi);

Joint Secretaries: BS Rathod (Rajasthan), M Ramakrishna
(Andhra Pradesh), RB Pandey (Bihar), HG Bhagat (Damam-Diu);

Associate vice-presidents: Pitamber Jena (Orissa), BC
Singh (Manipur), RN Jaiprakash (TN);

Associate Joint Secretaries: Ravin Kapur (UP), Kishor
Vaidya (Maharastra), Ranjan Chakraborty (Tripura).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link