Gamera-Shmyrko wins Osaka marathon

Last Updated: Sunday, January 26, 2014 - 19:14

Osaka: Ukraine`s Tetiana Gamera-Shmyrko, running her first full marathon for a year, won the Osaka women`s marathon for the second straight year Sunday.

After trailing in third spot, the 30-year-old began battling for the lead with Japan`s Yukiko Akaba and Karolina Jarzynska of Poland at 32 kilometres. She broke away after 37 kilometres to win the race in 2hr 24min 37sec.

Akaba, the 2011 Osaka marathon winner who is due to retire from competition after this event, followed home in 2:26:00 with Jarzynska third in 2:26:31.

"I am really happy with my second victory here," Gamera-Shmyrko, who was fifth in the 2012 London Olympic marathon, said before a cheering crowd at Osaka`s Nagai Stadium.

"As usual, I tried to step up my speed in the second half and it went very well this time. It was great to have run with strong runners."


1. Tetiana Gamera-Shmyrko (UKR) 2hr 24min 37sec

2. Yukiko Akaba (JPN) 2:26:00

3. Karolina Jarzynska (POL) 2:26:31

4. Sairi Maeda (JPN) 2:26:46

5. Marta Lema (ETH) 2:28:06

6. Natalia Puchkova (RUS) 2:28:44

7. Mari Ozaki (JPN) 2:31:17

8. Deborah Toniolo (ITA) 2:31.42


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Sunday, January 26, 2014 - 19:14

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus