Harpreet Singh wins Mumbai-Pune cycling race

Mumbai: Harpreet Singh of Central Railway won the 50th edition of the Mumbai-Pune cycling race on Sunday.

Singh completed the 156-km race in three hours, 43 minutes and 35.32 seconds to pocket a prize money of Rs 61,000.

He was followed by Paramjeet Singh, Gurmeet Singh (both from Army) and Amandeep Singh (Patiala).

A total of 191 cyclists including participants from Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Karnataka, Central Railway, South Central Railway, Army, Punjab, Jharkhand, UP, Gujarat and Andhra Pradesh took part in the event.

The annual event, held on the occasion of the 70th birthday of NCP chief Sharad Pawar, was organised by the Baramati Mitra Mandal and Maharashtra Cycling Association.

The total cash prize money for this year`s competition was Rs 6,50,000, with Rs 3,03,000 distributed among the first 10 cyclists who crossed the finishing line.

The race was flagged off from the Gateway of India, but the competitive race began from R K Studio in suburban Chembur at 8 am and ended at Sambhaji Garden in Pune.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link