Haryana pugilists excels, clinches team championship

Thrissur: Former World Champion L Sarita Devi of Manipur, true to her reputation, clinched the honour in the 51 kg class finals, defeating Rebeeca Lali Mawii of Mizoram 15-1 in the 11th National Women Boxing Championship on Friday.

In the title bout, Sarita, had an upperhand throughout the encounter, before winning rather comfortably, against Rebecca, who was seen struggling to find her rhythm.

In the 48 kg category finals, Defending champion Vanlal Duati of Tripura, did not face much of a resistance from
Monita of Arunachal Pradesh, before winning 3-1.

The finals in the 54 kg class, witnessed a close contest with both the pugilists Sonia of Haryana and Geetha of Delhi maching punch for punch, before Sonia emerged winner with a score of 5-3.

In the 57 kg class finals, Pavitra of Haryana defeated Dorothy Lal Chhanhimi of Mizoram to win the honour at 6-2.

Haryana bagged the Overall Championship accumulating 32 points, while Delhi and hosts Kerala shared the second slot with 17 points apiece and Manipur settled for the third spot with 16 points.

The pugilists from Hariyana bagged 3 gold and one silver on Friday.

Sairtha devi of Manipur was adjudged as the `best boxer`.

K.C. Lekha of Kerala, a former world champion, brought cheers into the Kerala camp, when she defeated Kavitha of Haryana in the 81 plus kg class final to win the honour with a score of 8-2 points, while Princy Joseph of Kerala lifted the 75 kg class title defeating D Narmadha of Tamil Nadu 6-0.

In 64 kg catagory, World bronze medallist and experienced Aruna Misra beat young Minu Basumatary of Assam with a score of 7-2.

In 60 kg category defending champion Meena Rani of UP outpunched Monica Saun of Punjab with a score of 4-1.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link