HI imposes ban on Rajnandgaon XI team, manager Koshor Diwar

New Delhi: Hockey India today imposed six months ban on all players on Rajnandgaon XI while another player Rahul Yadav and team manager Koshor Diwar were handed out 12 months sanction for breach of code of conduct during 1st All India VHA Nagpur Gold Cup Tournament.

The decision was taken after a meeting of HI`s Disciplinary Committee here

"The ban was imposed after due consideration of the facts presented before the members and hearing of the players and coaches. The Members were of the opinion that such a move will discourage others players from indulging in similar actions in future, and will ensure that they follow the Hockey India Code of Conduct and continue to be role models of the sport," a statement from HI said.

The Rajnandgaon XI players were guilty of breaching HI`s Code of Conduct during a match against SEC Railways last month after Rahul Yadav assaulted a player from SEC Railways team.

To add to it, Rajnandgaon XI`s manager and registered Hockey India umpire Koshor Diwar used foul language towards the umpires and technical table and on two occasions and insitigated the team to walk off the field.

According to HI`s statement, Rajnandgaon XI players also manhandled and abused members of the SEC Railways team.

"Hence, with due considerations to the reports submitted about the incident, the members recommended that a ban of 12 months is imposed on both Rahul Yadav and Koshor Diwar with effect from 6th May 2014 till 5th May 2015 from all Hockey India sanctioned tournaments and Hockey India members tournaments," the release stated.

"Rahul Yadav and Koshor Diwar will also be on probation of 1 year from 6th May 2015. It was also realised that Rajnandgaon XI team breached the code of conduct hence, the members agreed to a ban of six months be imposed on each of the 15 players with effect from 6th May 2014 and end on 5th November 2014."

The players falling under the ban are Deepesh Chabay, Mithlesh Panday, Rukesh Nishad, Rohit Rajak, Veshnu Yadav, Naveen Tirkey, Kartik Yadav, Sunil Kullu, Rajesh Nimbalkar, Shakil Ahmed, Taqfik Ahmad, Sukhdev Nimbalkar, Khilesh Pandya, Abhinav Mishra and Khemraj Sinha.

The banned players and officials will have a chance to appeal against the sanctions within 30 days to Hockey India`s Athletes Dispute and Grievance Redressal Committee.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link