HI releases representatives of 30 state units for elections

New Delhi: Hockey India on Wednesday set the ball
rolling for its much-awaited July 28 elections here by
releasing names of 56 authorised representatives from 30 state
and institutional units to cast their votes.

Prominent among those who will take part in the Annual
General Meeting and Elections on July 28 here include HI
President Vidya Stokes and Secretary General Narinder Batra
and Olympians Pargat Singh, Thoiba Singh, Gurbux Singh and AB

Stokes and Batra have been nominated from Himachal and
Jammu and Kashmir respectively while Pargat and Thoiba will
represent Punjab and Manipur in the elections.

Karnataka, which has been allowed participation in the
elections by a court order, will be represented by former
India goalkeeper AB Subbiah while Bengal will have Gurbux
Singh in the elections.

Four institutional units of Services Sports Control
Board, Railway Sports Promotion Board, Inter-University Sports
Board and Air India Sports Division will be represented by one
members while each state unit will have two representatives, a
male and a female.

Hockey Andhra Pradesh has also nominated its two members
but will not have voting rights, a Hockey India release said.

HI yesterday said it has received a no-objection
certificate from the government to conduct its elections on
July 28.

The Sports Ministry has already appointed S K Mendiratta
as the Election Observer while Retired High Court Judge R C
Chopra has been appointed as the Returning Officer.

Hockey India had ratified the affiliations of 33 units,
including four institutional boards, during its Special
General Meeting, last month.



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link