If PM can be above 70 why not NSF chiefs: Malhotra

New Delhi: If the country can have a Prime
Minister above 70 then what is wrong in having National Sports
Federation chiefs of similar age, asked Archery Association of
India President Vijay Kumar Malhotra reacting sharply to the
Delhi High Court`s decision which limits NSF heads` tenure.

"The argument that I would like to present is, there is
no tenure limitation for the Prime Minister of India, the
other ministers, MLAs, MPs or Chief Ministers of the states.
For that matter, even any other registered societies of the
country this policy is not valid, then why should this be
applicable to only the sports bodies?," asked Malhotra.

"If for good governance age below 70 is required then I
would like to point out that our Prime Minister Manmohan Singh
is running the country at the age of 76. Most of the Chief
Ministers of the country, including the Delhi CM Shiela
Dikshit, are above 70 years.”

"Even the Sports Minister of India M S Gill himself is
above 70. So, if these people leave the post for good
governance, then we will also leave."

Out of 62 National Sports Federations (NSFs) 24 bodies,
including Athletics, Tennis, Boxing and Archery are not
following government guidelines, the Sports Ministry disclosed

The Ministry came out with the list when the Delhi High
Court directed the Centre to implement the National Sports
Policy. According to the list, nearly 40 percent of the NSFs
have violated the tenure term for the office bearers, fixed at
a maximum of eight years.

The guidelines, issued on May 1 this year, also restrict
tenure of the NSF presidents to 12 years and that of the
secretary and treasurer to a maximum of two consecutive terms
of four years.

Further, according to the guidelines no person who is 70
or above, can contest elections of a NSF.

The 78-year-old V K Malhotra is clinging to his seat for
the last 31 years. Malhotra`s tenure is the longest and is
followed by Aero Club President Captain Satish K Sharma, who
is in his job for the last 24 years.

Then comes Indian Olympic Association Secretary General
Randhir Singh, whose tenure is counting 23 years, followed by
IOA President Suresh Kalmadi (15 years). Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa
has been the President of Cycling Federation of India for the
last 14 years.

The All India Tennis Association had recently announced
that it was ready to follow government guidelines.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link