IHF ignored for IOA polls, Bhanot in electoral list from Delhi

New Delhi: Indian Hockey Federation will not take part in the upcoming elections of the Indian Olympic Association as the national apex body on Tuesday gave all the three eligible votes to rival Hockey India.

All of hockey`s quota for the IOA polls has gone to HI with president Marriamma Koshy, Secretary General Narinder Batra and Executive Committee member Sudharshan Pathak being nominated.

Interestingly, under orders from the Delhi High Court, three members from the IHF will be allowed to take part in the IOA Annual General Body Meeting on November 25 which will precede the elections.

The IHF will be represented in the AGM by its acting president Dinesh Reddy, Jatinder Peter and interestingly R K Shetty, who a few days back resigned from the post of president.

"Without prejudice permitted to participate in the AGM of the IOA to be held on 25.11.2012 as per Hon`ble Delhi High Court Order in CM No. 17422/2012 dated October 16 2012. Will not be entitled to vote as per the rules and regulations of the IOA Constitution at S.No. 1(III) (i)," the IOA said while putting up the electoral college.

HI is the recognised National Sports Federation of the IOA though the government also recognises the IHF.

The Delhi High Court had recently ordered a status quo of IOA`s decision to recognise HI as the sole body to run the game in the country.

Meanwhile, the 183-strong electoral college of the IOA polls issued today under directions from the returning officer, Justice (retired) V K Bali includes interesting names of officials, including Lalit Bhanot who is likely to contest for the Secretary General`s post.

Bhanot`s name has been included among two voters from the Delhi Athletics Association.

It will be interesting to see whether Bhanot contests elections or not as the IOC Ethics Commission has directed the IOA not to allow him, along with Suresh Kalmadi and V K Verma, to stand for the IOA polls.

All the NSFs get three votes while the state associations and service boards will have two votes.

Archery Association of India, which itself is holding its controversial elections on November 9, will be represented by its long-time chief and IOA acting president V K Malhotra, Tarlochan Singh and secretary Paresh Nath Mukherjee.

Abhay Singh Chautala, who is said contesting for the post of president against IOA Secretary General Randhir Singh, is one of the three members from the Indian Boxing Federation though his nomination to the chairman`s post of the Indian Amateur Boxing Federation is under the government`s scanner.

His son-in-law, Rajasthan MLA and IABF president Abhishek Matoria and secretary Bhupinder Singh are the other two voters from IABF.

Virender Nanavati, who is also reportedly running for the Secretary General`s post has been included from Swimming Federation of India.

Jagdish Tytler, who has vehemently opposed to allowing Kalmadi, Bhanot and Verma in the polls, will lead the Judo Federation of India.

All India Tennis Association will be represented on expected lines by its chief Anil Khanna, secretary Bharat Oza and Suman Kapoor. The same is the case of Weightlifting Federation of India with president Birender Singh Baisya leading the pack with secretary Sahdev Yadav and treasurer Naresh Sharma.

The Athletics Federation of India though has not nominated its president Adille Sumariwala. Former president J L Jadam, vice-president Sushil Salwan and secretary C K Valson have been nominated.