India beats Pakistan at Asian Snooker Team Championship

PTI| Last Updated: Aug 23, 2014, 20:09 PM IST

Karachi: Indian cueists continued their fantastic run in 2014 by winning a gold medal in the recently- concluded Asian Snooker Team championship here.

The Indian team consisting of Kamal Chawla, Faisal Khan and Dharminder Lilly outclassed the highly accomplished duo of Muhammad Asif (former IBSF World Snooker champion) and Muhammad Sajjad (former Asian Snooker champion) of Pakistan by 3 frames to 1 in a best of 5 frame final.

Local favourites and title contenders Asif and Sajjad were subdued by Chawla and Khan`s barrage of big breaks.

Earlier in the semifinals, India thrashed Iran by an identical margin (3-1). The mighty Iranians` Amir Sarkosh and current World Under 21 snooker champion Hossein Vafaei Ayouri were helpless against the aggressive display by Chawla and Khan.


India A beat Pakistan `A` 3-1

Faisal Khan beat Mohammad Asif 106 (81)-00
Kamal Chawla beat Muhammad Sajjad 91 (91)-06
Kamal Chawla/Dharminder Lilly lost to Md.Asif/Md.Sajjad-42-67
Faisal Khan beat Md.Sajjad 83 (50)-43

Semi Finals:

Faisal Khan beat Ami 136 (81,55)-00
Kamal Chawla beat Hussain Ayouri 76-04
Faisal Khan/Dharminder Lilly lost to Amin/Hossein 58-61
Kamal chawla beat Amin 82-42.