India lands in tough pool in women`s hockey World Cup

Updated: May 04, 2010, 18:16 PM IST

New Delhi: A stern test awaits India in the
women`s hockey World Cup, to be held later this year, as they
have been clubbed alongside Olympic and defending champions
the Netherlands, Germany and Australia among others in Pool A.

Japan and New Zealand are the two teams in India`s pool
while Pool B consists of hosts Argentina, China, Spain,
England, Korea and South Africa.

The International Hockey Federation allocated the 12
teams into two pools of six teams each based upon the latest
ABN AMRO World Rankings.

The top two teams from each pool will proceed to the
semifinals of the tournament to be held from August 29 to
September 11 in Rosario, Argentina.

Pools for BDO FIH World Cup women 2010:

Pool A: The Netherlands, Germany, Australia, Japan, New
Zealand, India.

Pool B: Argentina, China, Spain, England, Korea, South