India name 12-member team for FIBA Asia U-18 C`ship

Updated: Aug 16, 2012, 13:49 PM IST

New Delhi: India today named a 12-member team for the 22nd FIBA Asia U-18 men`s basketball championship to be held in Mongolia from August 17 to 26.

According to a statement from the Basketball Federation of India (BFI), the national team was handpicked after a slection camp held at the Indira Gandhi Stadiu here on August 1.

India have placed in Group A alongside China, Hong Kong and Lebanon in the 16-team tournament.

The other groups in the championship are:

Group B: Korea, Japan, Singapore and Syria; Group C: Chinese Taipei, Indonesia, Bahrain and Mongolia; Group D: Iran, Kazakhstan, Philippines and Saudi Arabia.

The Asia U-18 championship is the qualifying event for next year`s FIBA U-19 World championship to be held in Czech Republic from June 27 to July 7, 2013. The top three teams from the tournament will qualify for the world meet.

Indian squad: Akash Bhasin, Khusmeet Singh Atwal, Karthickeyan Saminathan, Sreerag Narayanan Nair, Loveneet Singh, Amit Kanarjee, Narender, Shyam Sunder, Karan Harold Joshua, Rakesh, Ajay Pratap Singh, Palpreet Singh Brar.
Coach: Jai Prakash Singh

Assistant Coach: Pawan Kumar.