Indian badminton team for CWG announced

New Delhi: A 10-member Indian badminton team for the Oct 3-14 Commonwealth Games was announced here Thursday.

Saina Nehwal would be spearheading India`s campaign in women`s singles while World No. 17 Chetan Anand, who won bronze in Melbourne Games, will be the highest ranked Indian in men`s singles.

World No. 3 Saina, who has been in a good form this season with three titles to her name, would be a strong contender for the gold medal.

It was in Melbourne four years ago that Saina took her first step to international fame. The Hyderabad-based player propelled India to the mixed team event bronze, beating much higher-ranked shuttlers like Tracy Hallam of England.

India are eyeing a rich haul out of 18 medals at stake in badminton.

The mixed doubles team of Jwala Gutta and V.Diju, ranked 13 in world, reached the quaterfinals of the World Championships last week.

The men`s doubles pairing of Rupesh Kumar and Sanave Thomas, ranked 16, and women`s combination of Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa, also ranked 16, have had some good results under their belt recently.


Men: Chetan Anand, Parupalli Kashyap, Sanave Thomas, Rupesh Kumar, V. Diju.

Women: Saina Nehwal, Aditi Mutatkar, Jwala Gutta, Ashwini Ponnappa, Aparna Balan.

Chief National coach: Pullela Gopichand

Foreign Coach: Atik Jauhari

Bureau Report


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link