Indian Oil Corporation beat RCF Kapurthala 3-2

Kolkata: Last year`s runners-up Indian Oil Corporation began their Beighton Cup campaign on a winning note beating RCF Kapurthala 3-2 at SAI ground on Sunday.

Former India forward Roshan Minz slotted home in the 9th minute to give Indian Oil an early lead. Gagandeep Singh struck in the 25th minute while two minutes later Didar Singh converted a penalty corner to give Indian Oil a 3-0 lead at halftime.

Simrandeep Singh converted a penalty corner in the 53rd minute, while Deepak Sharma sounded the board in the 64th minute but the Kapurthala outfit failed to get an equalizer to go down in their group A quarterfinal league.

In a group B fixture, Army XI struck a 52nd minute goal by Arumugam to hold Punjab National Bank. Punjab National Bank had a fine 2-0 lead with strikes from Bruno (10`) and Arjun (16`), but Army XI staged a fightback courtesy Poanna (19`) and Arumugam.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link