Indian Railways score easy wins; Delhi women also post win

New Delhi: Reigning champions Indian Railways put up a dominating show at the National Basketball Championship as both the men`s and women`s team registered comprehensive wins over Karnataka here on Wednesday.

The men`s Railways team trounced Karnataka men 111-55 with Gagan Deep Singh (26) emerging as the highest scorer. Vishesh Bhriguvanshi also contributed in the win by scoring 18 points.

The women Railways team outplayed Karnataka with a 94-45 margin.

Also recording an impressive victory was Delhi`s women`s team. They comfortably defeated Uttar Pradesh with a 76-4 with sister-duo of Prashanti Singh (21) and Pratima Singh (17) doing the bulk of scoring.

Swarni Singh (16) and Rajana Singh (16) led the UP fight.

In another clash, the Punjab men beat Chandigarh 68-28. Amrit Pal Singh (21) and internationally experienced guard Talwinder Singh (17) were the main scorers.


Girls Delhi 75 (Shiba Maggon 15, Raspreet 14) bt. Punjab 21.

Maharashtra 54 bt. Kerala 43

Andhra Pradesh 65 (Kawaljit Kaur 21, Anusha Anto 15) bt. Kerala 55 (Jeena P. 16).

Indian Railways 94 (Rajini Peter 15) bt. Karnataka 45.

Delhi 76 (Prashanti Singh 21, Pratima Singh 17) bt. UP 42 (Swarni Singh 16, Rajana Singh 16).

Boys Maharashtra 97 (Amit Gehlot 17) bt. Pondicherry 50 (Naveen 16, Vinod PG 14).

Chandigarh 48 (Joginder Singh 17) bt. Chattisgarh 47 (Shyam Sunder 16).

Punjab 68 (Amrit Pal Singh 21, Talwinder Singh 17) bt. Chandigarh 28.

Chhattisgarh 68 (Ankit Panigrahi 20, Shyam Sunder 19, Ajay Pratap 15) bt. AP 61 (Sujit 21, Somya Ramjan 14).

Indian Railways 111 (Gagan Deep Singh 26, Vishesh Bhriguvanshi 18) bt. Karnataka 55 (Lovid Anthony 13).

Maharashtra 72 (Amit 16, Sameer 16) bt. J & K 59 (Iqbal Singh 16).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link