Indian squad for C`wlth Weightlifting named; Ravi left out

New Delhi: Commonwealth Games gold medallist K Ravi Kumar has been left out to prepare for the upcoming World Championships as India named an otherwise 15-strong senior squad for the October 10-15 Commonwealth Weightlifting Championships in Cape Town, South Africa.

Ravi Kumar, who won a gold in 69kg category in the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi last year, was not named in the squad, which has seven men, as he wanted to prepare for the November 5-13 World Championships in Paris.

Renubala Chanu, who also won gold in 58kg category in the Commonwealth Games last year, was not among the eight women picked for the Championships as she was not in the national camp.

Despite the absence of Renubala, India still have other top lifters in women`s section in Monika Devi who won a bronze in 69kg category and Soniya Chanu who bagged a silver in 48kg category in the Commonwealth Games.

The Commonwealth Youth (Boys and Girls) and Junior (Men and Women) Championships will be held simultaneously at the same venue along with the senior competition.

India will field 14 lifters, including seven girls, in the youth event while 15, including seven women, will take part in the junior competition.

The Indian contingents are expected to leave for South Africa on October 7.

The Squads:

Senior Women (48kg): Soniya Chanu; 53kg: Shaya Devi and Kavita Kumari; 58kg: Sunibala Devi and Premeshowri Devi; 63kg: Poireinganbi Chanu; 75kg: Monika Devi.

Senior Men (56kg): K Ramana; 62kg: Rustam Sarang and Yukar Sibi; 69kg: Pasam Rambabu; 77kg: Gaurv Dubey; 94kg: Chandrakant Mali; +105 kg: Sandeep Kumar and Rupinder Singh.

Youth Girls (44kg): Minati Das; 48kg: Purnima Chanu and Joti Mal; 53kg: Pramila Krisani and Bidyabati Chanu; 58kg: Takio Yana; 63kg: Subhasmita Mohanty.

Youth Boys (50kg): Ajit Singh; 56kg: Apurba Chetia; 62kg: Achyutnanda Sahu and Hitlar Sorom Tagru; 69kg: Sourav Gogoi and Jagdish; 77kg: Neeraj Sharma.

Junior Women (48kg): Sanjita Chanu and Mirabai Chanu; 53kg: Matsa Santoshi; 58kg: Sumanbala Devi; 63kg: Gara Aruna Rani and Vandana Gupta; 69kg: Mangte Parneichong Kom.

Junior Men (62kg): Yukar Sibi; 69kg: Papul Changmai; 77kg: Vikas Thakur; 85kg: Mohammad Jameer Hussain and Deepak Yadav; 94kg: Vivek Kumar Singh; 105kg: Vompu Prabhakar and Nitin Kumar Rawat.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link