IOA decides to involve sportspersons in Olympics preparation

New Delhi: Indian Olympic Association (IOA) has decided to involve eminent sportspersons in preparations of the contingent for the 2012 London Games to be held from July 27 to August 12.

Veteran sports administrator KP Singh Deo has been named as the convener of the Olympic Games Monitoring committee.

The IOA has also constituted a four-member empowered committee headed by All India Tennis Association secretary general Anil Khanna to look after the Marketing Committee (sponsorship and TV rights) for the Olympics.

IOA Acting President Prof Vijay Kumar Malhotra said by forming these committees along with setting up of Arbitration and Ethics commission "we have fulfilled our commitment to make the IOA more inclusive and transparent".

"Now more sportspersons will have to share the responsibility in training and preparing the teams for the International events," he said.

Deo is also the chairman of Sports development commission of IOA. He was chef de mission of Indian contingent in the 1988 Seoul Olympics, besides being the president of Rowing Federation of India (RFI).

The other members of the monitoring committee are: Malhotra (Chairman), Randhir Singh (Vice chairman) and the President or Secretary General of every qualifying federation and one sportspersons as "athlete representative" from each qualifying Federation.

Malhotra said IOA will make all efforts to generate its own resources for sending the contingent to London.

"We have set up a marketing committee with knowledgeable people and experts in the field so that we do not have to depend on Government grants."

The Marketing Committee (sponsorship and TV rights) London Olympics comprises:

Anil Khanna,(Chairman), Raninder Singh( President NRAI), S Ragunathan (President Kayaking and Canoeing Association ) and N Ramachandran (Treasurer IOA).

The IOA chief said the formation of three-member Ethics Commission was as per the IOC charter.

The Ethics committee comprises: Justice Umesh Banerjee (Retd) Supreme Court, Justice R L Khurana, (Retd) High Court and Justice MSA Sididdiqui (Retd) High Court.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link