K D Singh elected new IHF president

PTI| Updated: Oct 21, 2013, 20:30 PM IST

New Delhi: Rajya Sabha MP Kanwar Deep Singh was unanimously elected as the president of the Indian Hockey Federation (IHF) for a four-year term in the Annual General Meeting held here on Monday.

Singh, who was elected unopposed in the meeting, will head the body from 2013 to 2017, the IHF is a release.

"The newly elected president expressed confidence in overcoming and resolving the long pending crisis prevailing in Indian hockey due to illegalities committed by the IOA, under the then President, Suresh Kalmadi in creating Hockey India and unethical support extended by FIH to Hockey India," it said.

The IHF, in its meeting, also decided to increase the number of hockey players representative from three to six in order to involve more players participation in functioning of the body.

Office bearers elected were:

President- Kanwar Deep Singh, Chairman- R K Shetty, Vice President (W)- Radha Murthy, Vice President (W)- Bula Ganguly, Vice President (Men)- K K Verma, Vice President (Men)- Surinder Singh Sodhi, Secretary General - Ashok Mathur, Treasurer- Charanjit Singh, Secretary (Men)- Joaquim Carvalho, Secretary (Women)- Madhu Yadav, Jt Secretary (Men)- Th. Manihar, Jt Secretary (Women)- Happy Mann, Asst Treasurer- Vivek Gupta, Executive Members (M)- S P Dass, I Rehman, A Nizammudin, (Women)- Zothan Kimi, Sukhwinder Kaur.