Kalmadi & Co. get CoCom chief`s backing in tenure row

Updated: May 05, 2010, 19:12 PM IST

New Delhi: Commonwealth Games Federation`s
Coordination Commission chairman Austin Sealy today said the
Indian government`s new regulations limiting the tenures of
National Sports Federation office-bearers have come at an
"unfortunate" time.

"The timing of Sports Ministry order was unfortunate. We
could have done without these distractions," Sealy told
reporters here.

IOA chief Suresh Kalmadi and National Sports Federations`
officials are up in arms against the new regulations that seek
to put a cap on their tenures and today met Prime Minister
Manmohan Singh here seeking his intervention in the matter.

The new regulation bars NSF presidents, which includes
Kalmadi, from occupying the top posts for more than 12 years,
with or without break, while secretaries and treasurers can
serve eight years at a stretch and can seek a re-election
only after a four-year gap.

Apart from Kalmadi, the regulation seeks to end the more
than a decade-old reign of Malhotra, Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa
(cycling), VK Verma (badminton), Captain Satish K Sharma (aero
club), B S Adityan (volleyball) and Jagdish Tytler (judo).

The Sports Ministry has stated that the move will not
affect the Games in any way and and there was no threat to any
of the office bearer, serving the current term.

The guidelines would be followed when the fresh elections
will be held, the ministry had said.