Kenyans Oloitiptip, Cherono emerge TCS World 10K champs

Bangalore: Kenya`s Alex Oloitiptip and Gladys Cherono won the overall men`s and women`s titles of the Tata Consultancy World 10K Bangalore 2013, which concluded at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium here on Sunday.

Suresh K Patel and Sudha Singh emerged winners among the men and women in the Indian category, finishing overall 20th and 14th respectively.

Dehradun-based Patel clocked 30.34, way outside the Indian men`s course record of 29.59, and was followed home by V L Dangi in 30.53 and Mohd Yunus in 30.58.

Sudha Singh completed a start to finish effort in 35.25, while Preeja Sreedharan, making a comeback after a layoff, took second place in 36.01, followed by O P Jaisha in 36.31. Defending champion Monika Athare was fourth.

The 23-year-old Oloitiptip, not among the pre-race favourites, took pole position early in the race and held off challenges from fellow Kenyan Nicholas Kipkemboi and Ethiopian youngster Brihanu Legese to win in 28.07 minutes.

He was followed home by Kipkemboi in 28.12 and Legese in 28.16.

Current World Cross Country champion Japhet Korir could not live up to pre-race expectations, finishing a disappointing 17th in 29.59, while another fancied Kenyan Moses Masai finished 10th in 29.05 minutes.

"It was fantastic win for me. I had faith in my ability and believed that I could win the run. The first 5 kilometers were difficult and the conditions were humid but the fact that I was strong and well prepared in mind and body helped me do well," Oloitiptip said while elaborating on his run.

The women`s race saw Gladys Cherono winning in 32.03 minutes, five seconds outside the course record of 31.58 set by Yimer Wude in 2010.

Gladys was followed home by Ethiopian Guteni Shone in 32.10 and Kenyan Esther Chemtai in 32.14. Kenyan Helah Kiprop failed to defend her title, finishing seventh in 32.26, while course record holder Yimer Wude was 9th in 32.54.

"The run was my first in India and I am glad with my performance. The weather was humid, which made running a little challenging personally. I had a small lead when we entered the stadium and decided to move faster and hold on to my position," said Gladys.

The overall male and female winners took home USD 21,000 each, with the second and third-placed runners winning USD 15,000 and USD 9,000 each respectively.


Overall Elite Men: Alex Oloitiptip(KEN) 00.28.07; Nicholas Kipkemboi (KEN) 00.28.12; Birhanu Legese(ETH) 00.28.16; Mike Kigen(KEN) 00.28.29; Philemon Rono(KEN) 00.28.37; Dickson Marwa(TAN) 00.28.50; Yitayal Atnafu(ETH) 00.28.50; Gideon Kipketer(KEN) 00.28.56; Henry Kiplagat(KEN) 00.29.03; Moses Masai(KEN) 00.29.05.

Overall Elite women: Gladys Cherono(KEN) 00.32.03; Guteni Shone(ETH) 00.32.10; Esther Chemtai (KEN) 00.32.14; Lucy Kabuu(KEN) 00.32.18; Emily Chebet(KEN) 00.32.19; Pascalia Kipkoech(KEN) 00.32.22; Helah Kiprop (KEN) 00.32.26; Malika Asahssah(MAR) 00.32.41; Yimer Wude(ETH) 00.32.54; Worknesh Degefa (ETH) 00.33.13.

Indian Men: Suresh KR Patel 00.30.34 (Overall 20); V L Dangi 00.30.53; Mohd. Yunus 00.30.58; Indrajeet Patel 00.31.20; Man Singh 00.31.20; Soji Mathew 00.31.34; Arjun Pradhan 00.31.41; Nandraj Singh Naruka 00.31.43; Karan Singh 00.31.45; Santosh K 00.31.53.

Indian Women:/ Sudha Singh 00.35.25 (Overall 14); Preeja Sreedharan 00.36.01 (Overall 15); O P Jaisha 00.36.31 (Overall 17); Monika Athare 00.36.37 (Overall18); Lalita Babbar 00.37.06 (Overall19); Kiran Tiwari 00.37.17 (Overall 20); Jhumma Khatun 00.37.36; Sinimol Paul 00.37.43; Manisha Salunkhe 00.38.01; Swati Gadhave 00.38.31.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link