Kothari, Chandra compile century breaks

Updated: May 01, 2010, 22:30 PM IST

Mumbai: Two century breaks brightened the
opening day of the Rs 3.10 lakh Nahar-MIG All India Invitation
Snooker Championship here today with Sourav Kothari and Manan
Chandra compiling sequence of 103 and 102 in their respective

National runner up Kothari of Petroleum Sports Promotion
Board defeated R Girish of Railways 4-2 while Chandra (PSPB)
got past Rishabh Pandya of Maharashtra 4-3 in a closely
contested tie.

Sandeep Gulati of Delhi created a flutter by defeating
Thailand-bound former two-time Asian champion Yasin Merchant
of Maharashtra 4-2 in another match.

Gulati ran up breaks of 83 and 89 as compared to the 88
and 92 recorded by Merchant who is scheduled to take part in
the Asian championship soon after the conclusion of this

In other matches, junior national champion Shahbaaz Adil
Khan of PSPB beat Gaurav Prabhu 4-0, Kamal Chawla (Railways)
outstroked Lucky Vatnani (AP) 4-2 and former national champion
Alok Kumar (PSPB) got the better of I H Manudev of Karnataka

Results: Sourav Kothari bt R Girish 4-2 (15-68, 73-59,
75 (48)-5, 65-37, 15-74, 103-00); Shahbaaz Adil Khan bt Gaurav
Prabhu 4-0 (63-43, 53-27, 56-35, 63-17); Kamal Chawla bt Lucky
Vatnani 4-2 (6-27, 81-23, 21-65, 67-57, 8-69, 54-28); Manan
Chandra bt Rishabh Pandya 4-3 (32-95, 29-78, 91-1, 63-49,
77-22, 17-67, 102-0).