Lal Bahadur Shastri hockey tournament starts from Tuesday

New Delhi: The 22nd Lal Bahadur Shastri Under-21 Four Nation women`s hockey tournament, featuring hosts India, Australia, Germany and New Zealand, is all set to begin from Tuesday at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium.

In the tournament opener tomorrow, Germany will take on Australia, while India will play New Zealand later in the day, the chairman of the tournament organising committee, Squadron Leader Kamal Chaudhary informed.

He also revealed that Delhi`s Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit will inaugurate the opening ceremony of the championship, which will be held over a period of five days.

The tournament, which for the first time will have junior teams competing for the title, will see a total of eight matches, starting from the round robin league and leading to the finals.

"The key initiative taken by the committee this year is to promote Four Nation U-21 Women`s Hockey Tournament," said Chaudhary, who rued lack of sponsorship for the event as a hurdle in organising the senior level tournament this year.

"Obviously, the expenditure will be more to hold a senior level tournament. Finances have always been a factor, we organise the tournament with the minimum possible budget. None of the sponsors have tied-up with us for more than one year. So every time we have to start from the scratch," he added.

Meanwhile, tournament director Rosey Stern said that the event will provide a great opportunity for the youngsters and will help "raise the standard of the game" in the country.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link