Mbiesehi, Yimer emerge men`s & women`s champs in Bangalore 10K

Bangalore: Young Kenyan Titus Mbiesehi
emerged surprise winner as he ran away with top honour in a
strong men`s elite field while Ethiopian Yimer Wude won the
women`s competition with a course record in the Sunfeast
Bangalore 10K Run here on Sunday.

20-year-old Mbieshei clocked 27.54 minute, three seconds
outside the course record of 27.51 minute while Yimer breasted
the tape in 31.58, four seconds faster than the course record
of 32.02 that was set jointly by Grace Momanyi and Elvan
Abeylegesse in 2008.

Defending champion Aselefech Mergia of Ethiopia was
second with a time of 32:00 while Kenyan Momanyi clocked 32:05
to finish third in the women`s elite section.

In men`s elite section, Uganda`s Moses Kipsiro was second
in 28.08 while Kenya`s Feyisa Lelisa finished third in 28.23.
Defending champion Deriba Merga of Ethiopia, who only arrived
in Bangalore yesterday, finished fourth in 28.32.

The men`s and women`s elite winners were richer by USD
21,000, with the second and third placed finishers taking home
USD 12,000 and 8,000 respectively.

Mbieshei took control of the strong men`s race early and
ran strongly throughout but it was a close race in women`s
elite section. Yimer was initially content to stay behind the
leading pack before making her move, which saw her enter the
stadium along with Mergia and Momanyi. With 300 metres to go,
Yimer shifted gears to run past the tape first.

The strong Indian contingent among men saw a photo
finish, with Federation Cup champion Sunil Kumar breasting the
tape a fraction of a second before Arvind Kumar Yadav. Both
were credited with a time of 30.47 minutes but Sunil was
declared the winner. Santosh Kumar was third with 30:50.

The Indian women`s race was won by Preethi L Rao,
clocking 37.47 while M Sudha and Kamlesh Baghel were second
with 39:25 and 39:43 respectively.

Both the Indian men`s and women`s winners took home Rs
1.50 lakh, with the second and third placed athletes winning
Rs 1.25 lakh and Rs 1 lakh respectively.

Both Sunil Kumar and Preethi Rao finished overall 21st.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link