National Mens Hockey Championship: Delhi enter quarter finals

Bhopal: Delhi entered the quarter-finals of
the 63rd Rangaswami Cup Senior National Men`s Hockey
Championship by crushing Jharkhand 4-1 at the Aishbagh Stadium

With this, Delhi has become the seventh team to book a
berth in the quarter-finals.

The other teams which have already entered the
quarter-finals are Mumbai, Tamil Nadu, Chandigarh, Punjab,
Haryana and Hosts Madhya Pradesh State Hockey Academy (MPSHA),

The eighth team for the quarter-finals would be decided
from SAIL and Orissa after their match this evening.

For Delhi, a brilliant field goal scored by Pradeep Kumar
in the fourth minute gave a 1-0 lead to his team yesterday but
Suman Tirki of Jharkhand equalised it in the 24th minute
through a penalty corner.

Later, Delhi players swung into action again and
converted a penalty corner in the 29th minute through Rocky
and took a 2-1 lead till breather.

In the second half, Amit Lochan hit a goal through
penalty stroke in the 43rd minute while Praveen put the ball
in the net in the 68th minute for Delhi and ensured their
teams victory by 4-1.

Till breather, Delhi led 2-1.
In another match, Orissa defeated Uttarakhand 2-1 and
retained in the race for the quarter-finals along with SAIL
from Pool H.

Despite Uttarakhand taking a 1-0 lead in the fourth
minute through Abdul Masid`s brilliant field goal, it did not
maintain this for long as Lakra of Orissa equalised it through
a field goal in the 16th minute.

Two minutes later, Tirki of Orissa hit another field
goal and ensured his team`s victory by 2-1.

Till breather, Orissa led 2-1.

In the second half, Uttarakhand tried their best to
equalise the score but could not do so.

The other match of day between Pondicherry and
Tripura, which have already crashed out from the tournament,
ended in a draw as both the teams failed to score any goal in
the allotted time.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link