New faces in Indian team for Asian Badminton C`ship

Last Updated: Apr 07, 2011, 16:11 PM IST

New Delhi: With top shuttlers opting out due to international commitments, India has decided to field a young side for the Asian Badminton Championships in Chengdu, China from April 19 to 24.

Saina Nehwal and P Kashyap will not participate in the event as they will be busy preparing for the Indian Open Super series tournament from April 26.

National champion Chetan Anand has also opted out of the event due to injury while Arvind Bhat is busy playing elsewhere.

In the absence of these big names, the troika of Ajay Jayaram, Saurabh Verma and B Sai Praneeth will spearhead India`s challenge in the men`s singles event.

In women`s singles Aditi Mutatkar will lead the Indian campaign. In doubles, Commonwealth Games gold medallists Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa will be among the favourites.

The Indian teams: Men`s singles: Ajay Jayaram, Saurabh Verma, B Sai

Women`s singles: Aditi Mutatkar, Neha Pandit, PC Thulasi, Arundhati Pantwane.

Men`s doubles: Akhshay Dwalkar and Arun Vishnu, Jishnu Sanyal and Manu Attri, Pranav Chopra and Kona Tarun.

Women`s doubles: Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa, Aparna Balan and Prajakta Sawant, Pradanya Gadre and P Jyotsana.

Mixed doubles: Arun Vishnu and Aparna Balan, Kona Tarun and Ashwini Ponnappa, Pranav Chopra and Prajakta Sawant, Akhshay Dewalkar and Pradanya Gadre.