Odisha lift East Zone hockey tourney

Last Updated: Dec 07, 2011, 22:36 PM IST

Patna: Odisha clinched the title of East Zone sub-junior hockey championship trouncing host Bihar 4-0 at the Danapur Regimental Hockey ground.

Odisha girls displayed a power-packed performance to dominate Bihar throughout the match.

It took an early lead in the 23rd minute when Priyan a Kumari scored a beautiful field goal before Biranjni Ekka converted a penalty corner in the 36th minute to extend the visitor`s lead to 2-0.

Another Odisha girl Priyanka Ekka scored in the 65th minute, while teammate Birajni Ekka converted the penalty corner to help her team complete a 4-0 over Bihar.

Both the teams qualified for the sub-junior national to be held at Gurgaon from December 15 after securing top two positions in East Zone tournament.

Host Bihar will clash with Odisha in the boy`s final tomorrow.