Parimarjan, Abhijeet lead Indian challenge in Dubai

Dubai: Grandmaster Parimarjan Negi and former
world junior champion Abhijeet Gupta will spearhead a
28-strong Indian Challenge in the 12th Dubai International
Open Chess Tournament here.

Parimarjan starts as the third seed in one of the
strongest Asian events, starting today, that has 35
Grandmasters in a field of 153 participants vying for a total
prize pool of USD 45000.

In all, 28 Indians are in the fray of varying strength
and there number is exceeded by players from the local
federation only.

Grandmaster Gabriel Sargissian of Armenia, famous as the
second of compatriot Levon Aronian, starts as the top seed in
the nine-day event with an ELO rating of 2675 points.

Besides Parimarjan and Abhijeet, the Indian list of
Grandmasters participants includes S Arun Prasad and R R
Laxman while GM norm holder D Harika is the highest rated
Indian girl.

International Masters M R Lalith Babu, S Satyapragyan and
Sahaj Grover are among those who will be hoping for a better
performance to make Grandmaster norms while the younger lot
including Shiven Khosla will be vying for International
Master`s norm from the tournament.

Parimarjan Negi will certainly be a title contender given
his ability to win big tournaments. The Indian teenager is the
second youngest ever Grandmaster in the history of the game
after Sergey Karjakin of Ukraine and would like to come up
good in his second major open of 2010.

In the first one Capplle de grande at France, Parimarjan
had tied for the second spot.

Abhijeet Gupta too has shown a knack for winning major
events and an indication of his strength was his tied first
finish in the Reykjavik International open at Reykjavik in

Defeating a big name like Ivan Sokolov at Reykjavik did
boost the young Indian`s confidence.

The List of Indian players in Dubai Open: Parimarjan
Negi, Abhijeet Gupta, S Arun Prasad, M R Lalith Babu, R R
Laxman, D Harika, S Satyapragyan, M R Venkatesh, Sahaj Grover,
M Shyam Sundar, Eesha Karavade, Ramnath Bhuvanesh, S
Meenakshi, Vaibhav Suri, Padmini Rout, Shiven Khosla, Chinmay
Kulkarni, Abhishek Kelkar, Vinod Bhagwat, Antonio Viani
D`cunha, Tejas Ravichandran, Karma Pandya, P I Johny,
Manjunath Jain, M Vigram, Sudharsan Surya, N Madhuri, M