Polish GM takes sole lead, Surya stunned

PTI| Updated: Dec 11, 2013, 21:33 PM IST

Kolkata: Polish International Master Jacek Stopa jumped to sole lead after outwitting Indian GM Deep Dasgupta after seven rounds of the SREI International Grandmasters Chess tournament here on wednesday.

In a Reti opening, Stopa won a piece in the middle game and later consolidated his extra material to win in 33 moves in a sharp battle as he led the standings with six points with three more rounds remaining.

GM Levan Pantsulaia who beat overnight leader GM Samvel Ter-Sahakyan of Armenia closely followed second along with Russian GM Ivan Popov the second seed with 5.5 points each.

Popov effectively utilised his passed pawn on d7 to win a rook ending against Marat Dhzumaev of Uzbekistan which arose from a Scotch defence.

Meanwhile, in the match of the day, IM Siddharth Ravichandran upset GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly as the tournament top seed and local favourite now has to win remaining three rounds to finish near top.

Trying desperately to complicate the position in a King`s Indian attack, Surya was clearly on the back foot after the opening as his pieces lacked co-ordination and mobility.

Tamil Nadu lad Ravichandran sacrificed the rook for bishop on 20th move and played precisely to wrap it up in 60 moves.

Top Board Results

GM Samvel Ter-Sahakyan (5) lost to GM Levan Pantsulaia (5.5); IM Jacek Stopa (6) b GM Deep Sengupta (4.5); GM Ivan Popov (5.5) b Marat Dzhumaev (4.5); GM Tornike Sanikidze (5) drew IM Anurag Mhamal (5); IM Murali Karthikeyan (5) drew IM Mikhail Mozharov (5); GM Vladislav Borovikov (5) b IM Vahe Baghdasaryan (3.5); IM Siddharth Ravichandran (5) b GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly (4) ; IM Prasanna Raghuram Rao (4) lost to GM Merab Gagunashvilli (5); GM Valeriy Neverov (5) b WGM Mary Ann Gomes (4); N R Visakh (3.5) lost to GM R R Laxman (5); GM Drazic Sinisa (4) lost to GM Praveen Thipsay (5); M Kunal (4.5) drew GM Levon Babujian (4); Rishi Sardana (3.5) lost to GM Azer Mirzoev (4.5); S Ravi Teja (3.5) lost to Bahruz Rzayev (4.5); GM Hovik Hayrapetyan (4.5) b IM Himanshu Sharma (3.5).