Pro-Kabaddi League: Dinesh Kumar named Bengal Warriors captain

Former India captain and Arjuna Awardee Dinesh Kumar was on Wednesday named captain of Bengal Warriors for the second season of Pro-Kabaddi League that will begin from July 18.

Kolkata: Former India captain and Arjuna Awardee Dinesh Kumar was on Wednesday named captain of Bengal Warriors for the second season of Pro-Kabaddi League that will begin from July 18.

Bengal Warriors, who finished a disappointing seventh last season, have made six changes to the line-up including two foreign recruits -- Mohammed Tariq from Pakistan and Chaminda Samarakoon of Sri Lanka.

The city franchise will take on Bengaluru Bulls to kick off their campaign in the second season that will follow a caravan format like the inaugural season with the league moving to Kolkata in the second leg from July 22.

In the home leg, Bengal Warriors will face reigning champions Pink Panthers.

The city franchise, who unveiled their 24-member squad here today, has retained Raj Narain Sharma as the coach.

The squad:

Dinesh Kumar (c), Nilesh Shinde, Nitin Mandane, Akhil Ashokan, Parveen Madanlal, Bajirao Hodage, Deepak Dhull, Deepak Kumar, Hitesh Patel, Kedar Lal, Sachin Khambe, Vikas Kale, Vijin Thangadurai, Mahendra Rajput, Mahesh Goud, Shyam Kumar Sha, Sunil Jaipal, Surjeet Singh, Manoj Kumar Gora, Sandeep, Seong Ryeol Kim (Kor), Jang Kun Lee (Kor), Chaminda Samarakoon (SL), Mohammed Tariq (Pak); Team Manager: Dilip Agarwal, Coach: Raj Narain Sharma, BC Ramesh, Pysio: Dr Aijaz Ashai.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link