PSPB lift both the titles in badminton ch`ship

Last Updated: Jan 06, 2011, 14:46 PM IST

Rohtak: Putting up a dominating show, the Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) clinched both the men`s and women`s team titles of the 66th Inter-State and Inter-Zonal National Badminton Championship.

PSPB blanked Indian Railways 2-0 to win the women`s title -- Chadha Cup.

Trupti Murgunde defeated Anita Ohlan 21-16, 21-9 to put PSPB ahead and then Aparna Balan and Shruti Kurien outplayed Dhanya Nair and Anita Ohlan 21-10, 21-13 to clinch the issue at the Mahrshi Dayanand University.

In the men’s category, PSPB blanked Indian Railways 3-0 to win the Rahimtoola Cup.

B Chetan outsmarted B Kiran Kumar 21-8, 21-9 to give PSPB a 1-0 lead, which got doubles when the pair of Arvind Bhat and Rupesh Kumar defeated Anil Kumar Raju and Dinesh T 21-19, 21-16.

In the inconsequential third match, P Kashyap defeated P Vinay Kumar Reddy 21-16, 21-14.