Rajpal, Surinder to lead Indian hockey teams in Asian Games

New Delhi :Veteran Rajpal Singh and experienced forward Surinder Kaur will lead India`s charge in men`s and women`s hockey event, respectively, in the forthcoming Asian Games in Guangzhou, China from November 12-27.

Both teams will leave for the quadrennial event on Thursday .

The men`s squad, which played in the Commonwealth Games and finished runners-up with a silver medal, has been retained, while two changes have been made to the women`s

Yogita Bali replaces Etimarpu Rajani as the second goalkeeper while Rosalind Lalchhanhimi Ralte comes in place of Asunta Lakra in the mid-field.

Men`s squad: Goalkeeper: Bharat Chetri, Defenders: Sardar Singh, Sandeep Singh, Dhananjay Mahadik, Gurbaj Singh, Prabodh Tirkey, Midfielders: Arjun Halappa, Vikram Pillay, Ravi Pal, Bharat Chikara, Danish Mujtaba, Sarvanjit Singh, Forwards: Rajpal Singh (capt), Tushar Khandker, Shivendra Singh, Dharamvir Singh.

Women`s squad: Goalkeepers: Dipika Murty Gongala, Yogita Bali, Defenders: Binita Toppo, Subhadra Pradhan, Joydeep Kaur

Midfielders: Rosalind Lalchhanhimi Ralte, Kirandeep Kaur, Mukta Prava Barla, Deepika Thakur, Ritu Rani

Forwards: Surinder Kaur (capt), Saba Anjum, Rani Rampal, Jasjeet Kaur Handa, Chanchan Devi Thokchom, Poonam Rani

Officials: Jose Brasa (coach, men), Harendra Singh (national coach, men), Sandeep Somesh (coach incharge, women), Clarence Lobo (coach, men), Khalid Modi (coach, women), BK Nayak (doctor), Shrikant Iyengar (physio), Pradeep Dutta (trainer), H Nalini (video analyst), Anupam Ghulati (manager, men), Rupa Saini (manager,women).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link