Rangaswami Cup meant to pick up players for Olympics

Bhopal: Introduced in 1928, the
Rangaswami Cup, was originally known as Inter-Provincial
Tournament meant to pick up players for the national team for
the Olympics.

United Province, led by P C Banerji and consisting of
legendary Dhyan Chand, won the first edition of the
championship defeating Rajputana 3-1 in the final held at

Since 1935 onwards, the winners were given a shield
that New Zealand`s Maori tribe presented to visiting Indian
team. However, after partition the trophy went to Pakistan.

Subsequently, the Hindu Group in 1951 presented the
Rangaswami Cup that was named after one of its editors and
since then the tournament is known as the Rangaswami Cup.

The tournament since its inception is also known as
Senior National Men`s Hockey Tournament.

Bhopal won the tournament twice in 1945 and 1948 and
finished runners-up thrice. Bhopal hosted the reputed
tournament thrice in 1950, 1962 and 1975.

Last time, when the championship was held in Bhopal,
Indian Railways won it, defeating Tamil Nadu 5-0 in the final.

Punjab and Sindh Bank won the last two editions of the
tournament held in 2005 and 2006.

Indian Railways has won the title for a maximum 21
times in the past 63 editions.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link