Richa bags second gold

Last Updated: Tuesday, October 2, 2012 - 18:59

Pune: Police swimmer Richa Mishra grabbed her second gold medal in as many days by winning the women`s 800m free Style Gold medal at the at 66th Enerzal Senior National Aquatic Championships here today.

Richa, who won the 200m backstroke gold yesterday, added the 16-lap race title at the Chatrapathi Shivaji Balewadi Stadium but finished well adrift of her own national mark.

The Police woman won the race in 9 minutes and 12.06 seconds, after she was on course to break her own year-old mark of 09:06.31 but was unable to maintain the momentum in the closing stages.

Hrutika Shriram of Railways retained the women?s spring board diving crown while K Ramananda Sharma of Services grabbed the men?s 3m spring board title.

Results: Women: 800M free style: 1. Richa Mishra (Pol) 09:12.06, 2. Surabhi Tipre (Kar) 09:12.95, 3. Aakanksha Vora (Mah) 09:40.61.

1M spring board diving: 1. Hrutika Shriram (Rlys) 154.20 points, 2. Genevieve Atala D`costa (Goa) 129.55, 3. Radhika Apte(MP) 116.80.

Men: 3M spring board: 1. K Ramananda Sharma (Ser) 336.50, 2. S Rabi Kumar Singh (RlyS) 311.70, 3. M Manesh Kumar (Ser) 286.75.

Water polo: Men : Maharashtra 8 (Ashwinkumar Kunde 2, Shreyas Vaidya 2, Swapnil Ambekar 2, Aadit Kembhavi1, Nikhil Shinde 1) bt Kerala 3 (Vishnu P I 2, Aneesh B 1); Railways 3 (Akshay Kumar Kunde 1, Sumit Gawhane 1, Arjun Kawle 1) bt Bengal 1 ( Somnath Roy 1); Services 9 (Aneesh Kumar S R 3, Shaon Das 2, Sarat Chandran 2, S Jayakumar 1, S Deva Kumar 1) bt Punjab 2 (Rajbeer Singh 2); Police 6 (R Kamal Kumar 4 , N Gopakumar 1, Mukhtyar 1) bt Delhi 1 (Jitesh Tokas 1).
Women: Police 2 (l Bindya Devi 1, Purnima Pal 1) bt Maharashtra 1 (Shraddha Belore 1); Karnataka 13 (Varshini Gubbi 5, Malavika Gubbi 4, Renu R T 2, Shruthi M S 1, Keerthana S 1) bt Manipur 0; Kerala 3(Saranya S Nair 2, Archaa A 1) bt Bengal 0.


First Published: Tuesday, October 2, 2012 - 18:59

comments powered by Disqus


He (Major Dhyan Chand) is inspiration personified. He became synonymous with hockey. He became the parameter of hockey by which other player's calibre is measured.

Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal