Ritu Rani to lead Indian women team in Four-Nation tourney

New Delhi: Midfielder Ritu Rani will lead an 18-member senior women hockey team to participate in the double leg four-nation Tournament to be held at Auckland, New Zealand from April 12 to 22. Ritu Rani, who has 125 International caps under her belt, will have defender Joydeep Kaur as her deputy. Joydeep has featured in 87 international matches for India.

Selection trials for the team were conducted at SAI Centre, Bhopal on March 23 and 24, witnessed by Hockey India Selectors Col Balbir Singh, BP Govinda and Syed Ali, along with Government Observer Harbinder Singh.

The four-nation tournament will feature Australia, India, New Zealand and USA. The tournament shall be played in two phases in Auckland. The first leg will be played at North Harbour Hockey Centre, while the second one will be played at Lloyd Elsmore Reserve.

Goalkeepers: Yogita Bali, Sukhmani Virk.

Defenders: Th. Pinky Devi, Joydeep Kaur (VC), Kirandeep Kaur.

Midfielders: P Sushila Chanu, Asunta Lakra, Mukta Prava Barla, Deepika, Ritu Rani (C), Kiran Dahiya.

Forwards: Poonam Rani, Rani, Vandana Katariya, Chanchan Devi, Th Anuradha Devi, Anupa Barla, Navneet Kaur.

Standbys: Savita (Goalkeeper), Deep Grace Ekka (Defender), Namita Toppo (Midfielder), Lily Chanu (Forward).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link