Sandeep Sejwal warms up for Olympics with national record

Ranchi: Olympic qualifier Sandeep Sejwal of RSPB on Wednesday set a national record in the men’s 200 metre breast stroke clocking 02:16:37 in the 65th Senior National Aquatic Championship here.

Karanataka’s Saurabh Sangvekar also set a national record winning the 800 metres free style swimming timing 08:12:57 minutes, while Mandar A Divase of the Police team won the silver in 08:34:47 and RSPB?s Merwyn Chen returned with bronze medal clocking 08:38:87.

Sejwal’s domination in the 200 metres was such that fellow RSPB teammate Anoop Augustine finished second far behind at 02:26:98 and Karnataka?s M Arvind settled for the bronze with 02:30:66 minutes.

Karnataka’s Rehan Poncha grabbed the men’s 200 metre back stroke timing 2:07:85 while fellow team mate Rohit R Havaldar clocked 02:08:17 for the silver and RSPB’s Praveen Tokas got the bronze at 02:13:38.

RSPB continued excelling in the pool when their S P Nair fetched another gold in the 50 metre Butterfly stroke clocking 00:26:13 closely followed by Arjun Murlidharan of the Police who got silver at 00:26:35. Gujarat?s Anshul Kothari got the bronze timing 00:26:39.

RSPB men set a national record in the 4x100 mt Medley Relay clocking 03:56:06 while Karnataka quartet settled for the silver at 04:01:14 and Bengal came third timing 04:27:16.

In the women’s 200 metre breast stroke, Tamilnadu’s M Raghavi (02:48:39) and A V Jayaveena (02:51:45) won the gold and bronze medals respectively while Maharastra’s Poorva Shetye (02:48:57) won the silver in the event.

Maharashtra’s Arti Ghorpade (02:28:59) and Ananya Panigrahi (02:29:34) ranked first and second in the women’s 200 metre back stroke while Karnataka?s Meghanaa Sreevatsa took the bronze timing 02:35:79.

In the 50 metre butterfly stroke, Karnataka’s Pooja R Alva (00:29:56) and Fariha Zaman (00:30:16) won gold and bronze medals respectively while Goa’s Talasha Prabhu secured the silver clocking 00:29:86.

In the women’s 4X100 metre Medley relay event, Karnataka swimmers set a national record of 04:36:37 to win the gold. Maharashtra team (04:37:94) and Tamil Nadu (04:58:12) won the silver and bronze medals respectively.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link