Sharath to spearhead Indian TT challenge in CWG

Updated: Aug 30, 2010, 18:58 PM IST

New Delhi: Defending champion Achanta Sharath Kamal will spearhead Indian challenge in table tennis in the Commonwealth Games to be held from October 3-14.

The Table Tennis Federation of India today announced a strong 10-member squad for the multi-sport event with five paddlers each in men`s and women`s categories.

Besides world number 39 Sharath, who recently clinched two back-to-back international titles including his maiden Pro Tour crown, the men`s squad also have experienced players like former national champion Subhajit Saha and Sourav Chakraborty.

Soumyadeep Roy and A Amalraj complete the men`s line-up.

Sanil Shetty and Abhishek Ravichandran were named as the reserve players.

Reigning national champion Poulomi Ghatak and her doubles partner Mouma Das will carry the medal hopes in women`s competition, while former India number one Kumaresan Shamini was also named in the squad.

Madhurika Patkar and Mamta Prabhu are the other members of the women`s squad, while Olympian Neha Aggarwal along with Pooja Sahasrabudhe were named as reserves.

National coach Massimo Constantini of Italy and Bhawani Mukherjee, chief SAI coach for table tennis, will guide the players during the Games, a TTFI release said.

Currently the paddlers are undergoing a special training camp in China, which is a part of their preparation for the Games, and will return home on September 12.

The Federation has submitted the squad to the Games` Organising Committee.

India won two gold and one bronze in 2006 Melbourne Commonwealth Games. Sharath had won the men`s singles event while the men`s team had also won a gold. The women`s team had won a bronze.

The Team:

Men: Achanta Sharath Kamal, A Amalraj, Subhajit Saha, Soumyadeep Roy, Sourav Chakraborty;

Reserve: Sanil Shetty , Abhishek Ravichandran.

Women: Poulomi Ghatak, Mouma Das, Madhurika Patkar, Kumaresan Shamini, Mamta Prabhu;

Reserve: Pooja Sahasrabudhe, Neha Aggarwal.

Coaches: Massimo Costantini (Italy), Bhawani Mukherjee.

Manager: M P Singh, Mantu Ghosh.