Six Indians in Asian All Stars hockey team

New Delhi: Past masters of the game, India got recognition for playing some good hockey in last month`s Asian Games in Guangzhou, China with as many as six of its players making it to the Asian All Stars team.

Ace drag-flicker, Sandeep Singh shared the honours with captain Rajpal Singh, midfielder Arjun Halappa and defender Gurbaj Singh in the men`s category while in the women`s section defender Joydeep Kaur and 16-year-old striker Rani Rampal made the cut, according to a Hockey India release.

The All Star team was selected recently by the Asian Hockey Federation based on the performance of the Guangzhou Games, where the Indian men`s team won a bronze medal but the eves missed out on the podium, finishing fourth.

The two teams selected by the Asian Hockey Federation are as under:


Goalkeepers: Kumar Subramaniam (Malaysia), Salman Akbar (Pakistan)

Defenders: Md. Razie (Malaysia), Sandeep Singh (India), Gurbaj Singh (India), Hu Huiren (China)

Midfielders: Yeo Woon Kon (Korea), Lee Nam Yong (Korea), Tsuvouchi Kazuhiro (Japan), Ozawa Kazuyuki (Japan), Arjun Halappa (India), Rashid Muhammad (Pakistan)

Forwards: Rajpal Singh (India), Seo Jongho (Korea), Jang Jong Hyun (Korea), Tenku Abdul Rahid Jalil (Malaysia), Rehan Butt (Pakistan), Na Yubo (China)


Goalkeepers: Zhang Yimeng (China), Lee Seon OK (Korea)

Defenders: Ma Yibo (China), Li Shuang (China), Joydeep Kaur (India), Mayumi Ono (Japan), Irina Dobrioglo (Kazakhstan) Ratnaporn Shangpranam (Thailand)

Midfielders: Song Quingling (China), Park Seonmi (Korea), Kim Darae (Korea), Yukari Yamamoto (Japan), Nadia Abdul Rehman (Malaysia)

Forwards: Zhao Yudiao (China), Fu Baorong (China), Park Mi Hyun (Korea), Rani (India), Kaori Chiba (Japan).