Ten teams in Kingfisher Pro-League fray

Panaji: The fourth edition of the Kingfisher Pro-League with a new format has ten teams, instead of eight, vying for top honours.

Addressing a press conference, Samar Singh Sheikhawat, Senior Vice President (Marketing) of United Breweries said the Pro-League, which began from October 2, consists of ten teams featuring defending champions Dempo SC, Salgaocar SC, Churchill Brothers SC, Sporting Clube de Goa, Wilfred Leisure Sports Club, Vasco SC, Sesa Football Academy, Velha Sports Club, Margao SC and St. Cruz Club of Cavelossim.

According to the new format, the Kingfisher Pro-League 2012-13 will be played in two phases. In the first phase, the ten teams will play in a round robin league, which consists of nine rounds, played at five different venue. The first phase is scheduled to be concluded by the end of November 2012.

In the second phase, the top five teams from phase I will play in the Kingfisher Super League, while the bottom five teams will play in the relegation league. There will ten matches in each of these leagues respectively, which will be go on for two months from December 2012 to January 2013.

The Super League will culminate in the Kingfisher Super Cup, a knock-out based format between the top 4 teams in the league to decide the eventual winners of the Kingfisher Goa Pro League. All the Super Cup matches will be played under floodlights.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link