Turner to lead Australia`s quest for CWG Rugby Sevens gold

Updated: Aug 17, 2010, 15:25 PM IST

Melbourne: Wallabies winger Lachie Turner will lead Australia`s charge for Rugby Sevens gold in this year`s Commonwealth Games in New Delhi after being named in a 12-strong team.

Turner was named along with Brumbies outside back Pat McCabe, Western Force winger Nick Cummins and Queensland Reds wing/fullback Luke Morahan as fresh faces in the Australian sevens squad to compete at the October 3-14 event, the Australian Rugby Union (ARU) announced.

The Waratahs flyer Turner is one of two Wallabies to be included alongside utility back Morahan.

Coach Michael O`Connor has opted for a mix of experience and proven combinations, naming four members of the London Sevens-winning team in Bernard Foley, Ed Jenkins, Nicholas Phipps and James Stannard.

Australia will be seeking their first medal since the bronze they won in the sport`s debut at the quadrennial mega-sporting event in 1998.

Australia is drawn to play arch-rivals England in the pool matches along with Namibia and Sri Lanka.

"We`re all working on our individual skills and fitness and hopefully that will give us that extra edge come the Delhi Games," Turner said in an ARU statement.

"We`ll be hard to beat and I`m sure we`ll come away with some silverware."

With world champions Samoa and nine of the 12 nations in the International Rugby Board (IRB)`s world series taking part, Sevens will boast one of the few top class fields at the Games.

New Zealand, who have won all three Commonwealth gold medals to date, have named All Blacks Zac Guildford, Adam Thomson, Ben Smith and Hosea Gear in their squad.

Rugby Sevens squad: Robbie Coleman, Nick Cummins, Bernard Foley, Liam Gill, Pat McCabe, Pat McCutcheon, Luke Morahan, Nick Phipps, Brian Sefanaia, Kimami Sitauti, James Stannard, Lachie Turner.

Coach: Michael O`Connor.