V Balakrishna gets Best Boxer award at YMN boxing championship

Rajahmundry: Andhra Pradesh`s V Balakrishna bagged the Best Boxer Award at the 44th Youth Men National Boxing Championship on the concluding day of the six-day tournament held at Kakinada.

While Harayana secured the first position by clinching 41 points, Andhra Pradesh and Punjab stood second and third by securing 26 and 25 points respectively.

The Best Referee award was won by Rahul Sharma of Uttar Pradesh, while Best Judge award was bagged by K Srinivasa Rao.

V Balakrishna claimed a gold medal in Fly 52 KG category by defeating Vivek Subba of Arunachal Pradesh. Andhra Pradesh`s Md Hussain Uddin lost to Ajay Kumar of Harayana in Bantam 56 kg.

Andhra Pradesh`s N Thrivikram Dev bagged gold in Super Heavy +91 kg, by defeating Uttam Singh of Delhi, while Gurleen Singh of Punjab thrashed Andhra Pradesh`s V Naveen Kumar in Welter 69 kg.

In Bantam 56 kg category, Ajay Kumar of Harayana defeated Andhra`s Md hussain Uddin.

In light fly 49 kg category, Madhya Pradesh`s Tara Chand defeated K Sagar of Andhra pradesh.

Following are the results:

Bantam 56 kg: 1 Ajay Kumar (Harayana-Gold ), 2 Md Hussain Uddin (Andhra Pradesh- silver), 3 Govartham (Karnataka-Bronze) and Nagesh Kharare (Maharashtra-bronze )

Fly 52 Kg: 1 V Balakrishna (Andha Pradesh), 2 Vivek Subba (Arunachal Pradesh), 3 Govind Singh (Uttarkhand) and Rohit tokas (Delhi)


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link