WSH unveils Pune franchise, names it Pune Strykers

Chennai: Pune Strykers, to be owned by Sai Grace Sports and Events Private Limited (SGSEPL), became the third team to be unveiled for the controversial multi-million dollar World Series Hockey starting from next month.

The Pune outfit is the third of the eight city-based franchise to be announced by the organisers after Chennai and Bangalore.

The Bangalore franchise named Karnataka Lions was acquired by Sporting Ace Pvt Ltd, while Chennai Cheetahs, the first franchise to be named, are owned by Chennai Sports Organisers, backed by LT Nanwani, the director and promoter of Jubilee Granites mining company.

"Pune has a glorious hockey legacy and we felt it was only fitting that the city fields a team in World Series Hockey," said Manoj Choudhary, director of SGSEPL, who is also the promoter of Jewel Products, one of India`s leading corporate gifting and innovation companies.

"We have always involved ourselves in sports and World Series Hockey provides an excellent platform to express our abiding interest in the game," he added.

Yannick Colaco, chief operating officer of Nimbus Sport, the joint promoters of the event along with Indian Hockey Federation, welcomed SGSEPL to the WSH family.

"Manoj`s passion and association with hockey along with his strong business acumen and corporate relationships will definitely ensure the Pune Strykers make an impact in the inaugural edition of WSH," he said.

The WSH will be held from December 17 to January 22 and will involve 200 leading players -- Indian and international -- who will showcase their talent in 61 matches.

The inaugural edition of the league will comprise eight teams out of Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Chandigarh, Pune, Bhopal, Punjab, Ranchi and Rourkela.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link