Zafar Iqbal, M Venu included in NADA panels

Updated: Feb 26, 2013, 21:13 PM IST

New Delhi: Former India hockey captain Zafar Iqbal and boxing great M Venu were on Tuesday included in the National Anti-Doping Agency`s Appeal Panel and Disciplinary Panel respectively, after reconstitution of the two bodies.

The other sportspersons in the disciplinary panel include former shuttlers Madhumita Bisht and Vimal Kumar, and swimmer Bula Choudhary.

However, former Indian athlete Kamaljeet Sandhu, badminton player Dinesh Khanna, wrestler Prem Nath, chess player Bharat Singh have been dropped from the disciplinary panel, while former Indian hockey player Ashok Kumar has been given another term.

In the Appeal committee, Zafar Iqbal replaced former swimmer Khajan Singh while former paddler Indu Puri has been retained in the body.

Anti-Doping Disciplinary Panel:

Members: Dinesh Dayal, Gouri Karuna Mohanti, Jasmeet Singh, R S Chauhan, Rajeev Kapoor, N. K. Khadiya, PSM Chandran, Bikash Medhi, Arun Kumar Jain, Lalit Kumar Gupta, Ashok K. Dhyanchand, Madhumita Bisht, Bula Choudhary, M Venu, Vimal Kumar.

Anti-Doping Appeal Panel

Members: Retd. Justice M L Verma, V.K. Sharma, Dr. Y.K. Gupta, Indu Puri, Zafar Iqbal.