38 cricket teams enter second round of Pearls Media Cup

Updated: May 15, 2010, 16:05 PM IST

As many as 38 cricket teams comprising journalists qualified for the second round of the 8th Pearls Media Cup in Mumbai on Saturday.

The eight-over each matches played between media personnel from print and electronic media, including PTI Sports Club, have qualified for the second round of the tournament.

The teams will now fight it out tomorrow for the next stage at the sprawling Central Railway Ground, Central Mumbai, Pearls Media Cup General Secretary Calvin Joshua said.

Some of the prominent teams which made to the second round are - PTI, P7 News channel, Mahua TV, Aaj Tak, Zee News, Zee 24 Taas, Times of India, IBN Lokmat, UTV, NDTV 24x7, Media Cup President Jawahar Nadar said.

In spite of the intense heat, the media personnel, spotting colour sportswear, were out of the newsroom and were seen playing the game with full spirit and enthusiasm.

Special Inspector General of Police, Konkan region, Parambir Singh, a keen cricket follower who visited the venue early today, praised the organisers and participants.

“It is a good event which brings the journalists and non-journalists on a common platform. It is good to be fit and healthy not only with pen and camera, but also physically.” The event was declared open by the Mumbai Police Commissioner D Sivanandan on Saturday last. Eighty-four media teams participated in the first round.