Adwithya Patnaik outs top seed Manish Kumar

Kolkata: Qualifier Adwithya Patnaik from Odisha ousted top seed Manish Kumar from Delhi on a day of upsets in the AITA Championship Series 2012 pre-quarters at the Dakshin Kalikata Sansad Sports Complex courts on Tuesday.

The first set went on with hold of serves till 3-2 when Patnaik got a crucial break and made it 4-2 on serve.

Patnaik went on to grab the set 6-3. In the second set, Patnaik simply blasted the top seed as the former displayed enormous tenacity and aggression to close at 6-1.

Fourth seed from Andhra Pradesh, Siddharth Reddy went down against unseeded local boy Sanil Jagtiani in a close encounter of 4-6, 6-0, 6-2

Sixth, eighth seed from the same draw, Mohammad Azhar and Taran Mundkur went down fighting against qualifier Ishaque Eqbal and young lad Parikshit Somani respectively.

Mohammad Azhar, the sixth seed conceded in the deciding set at 6-3, 5-7, 2-3.

Mundkur, the eight seed, was thrashed by 13-year-old and former India Number 1 in Boys Under-12, Parikshit Somani 6-2, 6-1.

Results (Bengal if not specified; all PQFs)

Boys Singles U-14 : Ishaque Eqbal (1) bt Vikram Dhananjay (TN) 4-2, 4-1; Ritwik Chatterjee (7) bt Mukund Agarwal 4-1, 4-1; Nitin Kr Sinha (4) bt Md Fardeen 4-0, 4-2; Siddharth Basnet (SKM) bt Akshat Agarwal 1-4, 4-0, 4-1; Eklavya Singh (JHA)(5) bt Md Ali ADnan 4-0, 4-2; Parikshit Somani (ASM)(3) bt L R Balaji (TN) 4-1, 4-0; Arghya Das (8) bt Ram Karan Singh 4-2, 4-1; Sanil Jagtiani () bt A K Venkat Anikait (AP) 4-1, 4-0.